Bangladesh One Health Fellowship Award Ceremony 1st June 2017

The Institute of Epidemiology, Disease Control and Research (IEDCR), Ministry of Health and Family Welfare hosted the Awards Ceremony on 1st June, 2017 celebrating successful completion of the two-year One Health Epidemiology Fellowship Program.

The Ceremony was chaired by Professor Dr Meerjady Sabrina Flora, Director, IEDCR. Professor Dr. Kamrul Hasan Khan, Vice Chancellor of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujib Medical University (BSMMU) graced the occasion as chief guest. Dr. A.H.M Enayet Hussain, ADG (Planning and Development) & Line Director, NCDC and Dr. Peter D Jolly, Program Director, International Development Group of Massey University, New Zealand was present as special guests. Professor Dr Mahmudur Rahman, former Director of IEDCR, Professor Nitish Debnath, coordinator of One Health Bangladesh and Professor Dr Abdul Ahad from Chittagong Veterinary and Animal Sciences University (CVASU) were also in the meeting.

Speakers of the programs praised the visible impact of the program for workforce development in One Health. All of them emphasize on such one health workforce development program for the benefit of the country. Government partners and organizers again showed their commitment to work with external collaborators for such successful future programs.

 The two-years One Health Epidemiology Fellowship Program was funded by European Union under the One Health Program in Asia, and implemented by Massey University of New Zealand in partnership with IEDCR and CVASU. The graduating Fellows comprised two medical doctors and four veterinarians ­including two from animal health and two from wildlife health, who successfully completed this demanding program.